AFCONQ: Bright Stars to play Congo in Tanzania as Cusin releases 39-man squad

AFCONQ: Bright Stars to play Congo in Tanzania as Cusin releases 39-man squad
Bright Stars players during a training session at Buluk Playground. {Photo: Alex Bullen]

​The Bright Stars’ head coach, Stefano Cusin, has called up a 39-man provisional squad ahead of Congo Brazzaville’s doubleheader in Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) Qualifiers.

Coach Cusin’s men will hit camp on Saturday, March 11, 2023, in preparation for the forthcoming assignment.

South Sudan will face the Congo Brazzaville side on March 23 at Stade Alphonse Massemba-Debat, Brazzaville with their return leg on March 27.

Bright Stars will play their home fixture away in Dar es Salaam Tanzania due to the lack of a home stadium.

Cusin will be looking for his first win in AFCON qualifiers. South Sudan lost two games last year against Gambia and Mali.

Bright Stars need to win at least two games if they are to have a chance to qualify for the continental show tournament.

Cusin knows that the back-to-back clash against Congo Brazzaville will be a crucial assignment for his charges.

The gaffer has since summoned over 20 foreign-based players, including former Gor Mahia (Kenya) forward – Tito Okello.

Provisional squad

Ramadan John of Malakia FC, Juba; Majak Mawith of Bentlegh Green Australia; Khamis Daniel of Atlabara FC, Juba; and Godwill Yugusuk of Kator FC, Juba were named as goalkeepers; Agwa Okuot of Brattvag II of Norway, Wani Ivan Adebo of Bull FC of Uganda, Peter Maker of ex-Zesco United of Zambia, Rashid Toha of Arua Hill of Uganda, Felix Abishai of Amarat-Juba, Ryan Jiba of Minnesota of the USA, Okallo Tito of Paykan-Iran, Dhata Joseph of Ugadan Express FC, and Manyumow Achol of FK, Many Aguek of Avondale Heights in Australia, Loki Emmanuel of Bright Star FC in Uganda, Valentino Yuel of Qatar’s Umm Salal SC, Dani Lual of MFK Vyskov in the Czech Republic, AI Naser FC of Sudan’s Peter Chol, Gerica Atendele from Arua Hill, Uganda, Calvary-Norman Uganda’s Lumumba, Jackson Morgan, of Perth, Western Australia, Raith Rovers’ William Akio, Scotland Kennedy Juma of FC Yei Mission, Inter Turku-Ryan Finland’s Mahuta, FC Juba Sarfino Nikson El Merreikh, Ajak Riak of Australia’s southern Melbourne; Victor Loturi of Scotland’s Ross County; and Bul James of Jubbaland’s Malakia FC.

Others are: Bangazi Bakassoro of Kator FC-Juba, Mandela Malish of Atlabara FC-Juba, Joseph Loro of Munuki FC—Juba, Francis Okello of Amarat United-Juba, Mabior Mabior of Super Stars-Bor, Wani Shadrack of Malakia FC-Juba Rainbow Academy’s Paul Jawa, Al-Merriekh FC’s Joseph Malish, and Al-Naser FC’s Majak Mayor.